error: ISO C++ forbids comparison between pointer and integer

Well I'm not exactly sure what the error means, but it's
error: ISO C++ forbids comparison between pointer and integer [-f permissive]

Here's my code, the program is just a basic console-based calculator. I'm still learning C++ :P
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    char method[1];
    cout << "Please enter a method of calculation (*,/,+,-)";
    cin.getline(method,1);

if (method > 1)
    {
        cout << "You must enter a valid calculation method";
    }

if (method[1] == "*")
    {
        int fnumbM;
        int snumbM;
        cout << "Enter first number: ";
        cin >> fnumbM;
        cout << "Enter second number: ";
        cin >> snumbM;
        int answerM;
        answerM = fnumbM * snumbM;
        cout << answerM <<endl;
        return 0;
    }

if (method[1] == "*")
    {
        int fnumbD;
        int snumbD;
        cout << "Enter first number: ";
        cin >> fnumbD;
        cout << "Enter second number: ";
        cin >> snumbD;
        int answerD;
        answerD = fnumbD * snumbD;
        cout << answerD <<endl;
        return 0;

}

return 0;

}

The bold text is where I received errors. I noticed it's whenever I'm using the IF statement to test my variable, but I'm not sure exactly what I did wrong though.
Last edited on
Line 11 is trying to see if the address of your array method is greater than 1, which is what the error is about. If you want to actually compare the first character of that array, use method[0].

The leads to the problems on line 16 and 20; method[1] is the second element of the array, which doesn't exist as you declared the array with only one element. Use method[0] instead.

This could be avoided by simply using a char instead of an array though.
Just an idea to show how you might avoid repeating code - here is some psuedo code:

//1 get a number
//2 get an operator
//2.1 check it's a valid operator
//3 get a number