IDE: Library & Header Confusion

Hello everyone. I'm a BASIC programmer, coming from the VB6 and VB.Net environments. Although I have some familiarity with the C/C++ language, the need for the various libraries and headers have always stumped me. I've tried DevC, Eclipse and CodeBlocks, but invariably face compiler stonewalls due to this, especially when testing code samples from the web.

The BASIC IDEs that I use seem to be more integrated, in that no external or third party libraries are required. Almost any sample code meant for the respective language, be it VB6 or VB.Net, will run unfailingly.

Am I missing something, or are there multiple dialects to C/C++? It seems that code meant for Visual C++ won't work with any of these GCC IDEs. Or would it?

Is there any way to have a fully integrated C/C++ IDE that can run any sample code obtained from the web? My goal is platform independent C/C++ development, and as such Visual C++, which I believe is geared more towards Windows development, may not be suitable.

Also, would such cross-platform coding be viable and efficient, or would the use of cross-platform libraries result in slow and bloated executables?

Sorry for all the questions, but this site has always seemed like the ultimate C/C++ authority to me, and that's why I decided to join and get help.

Thanking you in advance; any help or direction is appreciated.
You missing the compiler, which actually do the compiling. You can use Windows only IDE Visual C++ with GCC compiler, which is crossplatform, or crossplatform Code::Blocks with Microfoft Visual Studio compiler, which is windows only.

are there multiple dialects to C/C++?
You can call C++03 and C++11 that, but your problem probably with different compiler "extensions" which should be avoided like hell (and downright standard violation. Yes Microsoft, it is about you and _tmain()).