C++ assignment question

Pages: 12
I am new to C++, currently taking a class at my local college, and I'm having trouble figuring this out..

"write a program that inputs a character from the keyboard and the outputs a large block letter "C" composed of that character."

If anyone can help I would really appreciate it!
Last edited on
Have you got some code?

We can help, but we can't do assignments for you.
I submitted my assignment once just using cout << "X\n"; to make the letter "C" but my professor said it was wrong. I'm just stumped.
The requirements sound strange. I assume your professor is wanting the uppercase of whatever letter is inputted. In that case, you have a toupper() function you can use. Or you can look at an ASCII chart and see if you notice a relationship between lowercase and uppercase letters, and write the function yourself.

http://www.ascii-code.com/
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cctype/toupper/
This is what I had originally done..

cout << " X X X\n";
cout << " X X\n";
cout << "X\n";
cout << "X\n";
cout << "X\n";
cout << "X\n";
cout << "X\n";
cout << " X X\n";
cout << " X X X\n";

The assignment doesn't mention anything about capital letters or anything like that. Unless this is wrong lol.
the coding got messed up when I pasted it :/
The way you're printing the letter probably isn't wrong - that meets up with his requirements.

However, you need to ask the user for a letter then print the "C" using whatever letter has been entered, rather than "X".

That is, if I have interpreted the requirements correctly.
I think your prof wants you to develop a loop structure to output a multi-line block letter.
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
EEE
EEE
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
EEE
EEE
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

So.. something like that, except with the letter C being printed to the screen as a block letter.
Oh, I get what you're saying now.