two dimensional arrays function call

*edit* I see the indentation is weird, hope you can make out what the code does.

Hi!

I'm new at programming so I thought I'd pop by for some questions regarding an assignment at my uni.

Just began with c++, have some experience in ada and python. I'm supposed to create a 'golf score tab' using two-dimensional arrays. In essence, I have to create the array that represents 20 golf courses, and the score for each course. As stated, there are 20 courses and each course can have 1-8 scores. So basically, I create the arrays, fill the 20 'slots' with random integers with a range from 1-20. This is what I've got so far (pardon the code, there are things that might not make any sense but I've tried several different things that I've gathered from different sites in order to make it work.):

#include <iostream>
#include <cstring>
#include <stdlib.h>

#define course 20
#define score 8

using namespace std;

void fillArray(int golf_array[20][9])
{
for (int i = 0; course < 20; i++)
{
for (int j = 1; score < 9; j++)
{
golf_array[i][j] = rand() % 8 + 1;
}
}
}

////////////////////////////////////

void displayArray(int golf_array[20][9])
{
for (int i = 0; i < 20; i++)
{
for (int j = 1; j < 9; j++)
{
cout << golf_array[i][j] << " ";
cout << endl;
}
}
}

int main ()
{
int f;
int golf_score[20][8];

int fillArray(golf_score[20][8]);
int displayArray(golf_score[20][8]);
cin >> f;
}

I get no output when I run this. Might be because I don't fully understand how to call functions yet. So help regarding that is also greatly appreciated. Also, the int f; cin >> f; is just some foul fix in order to prevent my program to immediately shut down once it's done. Don't really know how to properly fix this yet either.

Help is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!
Last edited on
Use [code] tags to preserve indentation.