Skipping second cin>>x

This is my first time posting on this forum so apologies if i haven't followed correct forum etiquette.

I'm using netbeans on osx with a g++ compiler.

In the code below i'm having trouble getting my program to ask the user for input at the second cin in main().

istream& read(istream& in, vector<double>& input) {
    if (in) {
        //clear vector
        input.clear();
        double x;
        while (in>>x) {
            input.push_back(x);
        }
        in.clear();
    }
    return in; 
}

int main () {
    cout<<"please enter your golf scores:"<<endl;
    vector<double> golf;
    read(cin, golf);
    cout<<"please enter your minigolf scores"<<endl;
    vector<double> minigolf;

/*as per many online resources i've tried the following code to fix the problem
      * but i i haven't had any success 
      * cin.clear();
      * std::cin.ignore(std::numeric_limits<std::streamsize>::max(), '\n');
      * cin.ignore(); */

string x;
    cin>>x;

return 0;

}

amongst many other fixes i've tried

std::cin.ignore(std::numeric_limits<std::streamsize>::max(), '\n');

but i still haven't had any success.

I've since read the problem may be exclusive to OSX. As i trawled google i stumbled upon this post:

Control-D is absolutely the way to send EOF. Looking at the error codes on cin, clear is doing its job, but when you call cin again, it looks at stdin and finds that it is still at the end of the file.

This behavior is different then what we find under Linux, but I'm not sure which one I'd call wrong. The clear() function is just resetting the bit - it doesn't change the state of stdin. Clearly, under Linux, Control-D just sends the EOF character, while on the mac it is actually closing stdin. I think both are equally valid interpretations of what "sending EOF" means.