Loop goes infinitly

Pages: 12
Hello I am a total newbie at C++ and I am learning about loops but I have a problem, if I type even a simple loop like this one,

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
int num = 0;

while ( num != 5 )
{
cout << "Please enter anything but 5: ";
cin >> num;
cout << num << '\n';
}

cout << "You entered 5";
}

it will loop infinitly after I enter any number other than 5 for 7 times
Is it something I am doing wrong?
Much appreciated.
lol when I compiled your code Avast antivirus though it was the evo virus. Anyways

What are you trying to achieve, your code seems to work fine for me. I can type any number besides 5, and it will ask me for a new number. If I type 5, it exits.
Last edited on
It also exits for me but how many times can you type any number besides 5? Because If I do it more than 7 times then it suddenly goes into an infinite loop and I have to Ctrl + C to shut it down. Thats what I don't understand.
Hmmm... That's not supposed to happen. Try adding cin.ignore(); after cout << "You entered 5"; it might help
Nope cin.ignore(); doesn't help.
Could it be because I switch from debug to release when I compile and run the program?
Last edited on
Ok I really don't know what's wrong, because that doesn't happen to me.

You can try making a do while loop, like this:
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
int num;

do
{
cin >> num;
cout << num << '\n';
} while ( num != 5 );

cout << "You entered 5";
}
It still does the same thing even with a do-while loop.
Could it be the permission denied error that I have?
Last edited on
Permission denied? Curiouser and curiouser... Are you running the program with administrative rights, or is your virus scanner trying to run the program in a sandbox?
Last edited on
Well I am an administrator on my account and I am the only account on my pc and I do run codeblocks as administrator and what do you mean by trying to run the program in a sandbox?