designing a simple movie rating guide program

Hi I'm having trouble with a programming assignment. I'm still a huge beginner at C++. The assignment is to design a program for a movie rating guide. Each theater patron enters a value from 0 to 4 indicating the number of stars the patron awards to the guide's featured movie of the week. The program is supposed to execute continuously until a negative number is entered to quit. At the end of he program, it should display the average star rating of a movie.
This is what I have so far. I'm having trouble with the while loop part because I think my logic is incorrect somewhere in there. Should I use a different sentinal value?? It lets me enter one value but it doesn't let me continue after that.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main()
{

// Declare and initialize variables.
   double numStars;         	 // star rating.
   double averageStars;  	 // average star rating.
   double totalStars = 0; 	 // total of star ratings.
   int numPatrons = 0;           // keep track of number of patrons

// This is the work done in the housekeeping() function
   // Get input.
   cout << "Enter rating for featured movie: ";
   cin >> numStars;

// This is the work done in the detailLoop() function
   // Write while loop here
    while (numStars >= 0)
    {
        totalStars = numStars++;
        numPatrons++;
        averageStars = totalStars / numPatrons;
    }
   // This is the work done in the endOfJob() function
   cout << "Average Star Value: " << averageStars << endl;
   cin >> numStars;
   return 0;
} // End of main() 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.