rand() giving weird results in Code::Blocks/MinGW

Hi.

First: I'm quite a complete newbie when it comes to C/C++. but not programming in general. I've never written any very large programs, but I've dabbled around in a dozen or so languages. I can usually figure out the logic, but in any new language, I need to learn the syntax :)

So, I'm currently using the newest (as of 2013-03-19) Code::Blocks, with built-in GNU compiler (I believe that was MinGW).

I have a bit of a problem with random numbers. I just need a very simple semi-random number for a die roller test.

But this.
int main() {
    int diceroll = (rand() % 6) + 1;
    std::cout << diceroll;

return 0;
}

This is making me lose my hair. I believe that is supposed to give me a semi-random spread of numbers between 1 and 6, right? Well, at least on my computer, with my environment, it doesn't. I regularly get result ranging from 0 to 7. If I omit the +1, I get results ranging from -1 to 6. I don't get it. I really don't.

What am I doing wrong? Or have I configured my environment somehow wrong? Or does Code::Blocks/MinGW have an issue with rand()?

I'm using Win7 x64, if that matters.
You're not seeding the RNG. ;)
oh ----, of course I forgot to write that. Sorry, still early for me here. Of course I'm seeding it, I just typed that out without pasting the whole code here (because I'm not at that computer that has the software...)

I'm using

srand(time(NULL));

for seeding. And of course I'm #including needed things to get it to work, before someone manages to point that out :D
Are you by any chance calling srand every time you make a call to rand? If so you should only be calling srand once.

// Good
srand(time(NULL));
for (int i = 0; i < 10; i++)
{
    cout << rand() % 10 << endl;
}

// Bad
for (int i = 0; i < 10; i++)
{
    srand(time(NULL));
    cout << rand() % 10 << endl;
}
Last edited on
You are probably doing something wrong. It's hard to guess what it is when we can't see the code.