Converting lines

Pages: 12
Can someone further explain how to use sub string and string find ? I am a beginner in an intro C++ class. I am trying to read a text file for a blackjack game and I need to separate each line into 2 cards per player and count the number of wins each player has at the end of the file.
Ex. JH 8D QH AC 8H 9S
I know you would have to convert each line into a string but what happens next ??

By the way, I have read the reference articles for substring & string find so do not link those pages as a response.
Last edited on
If there will always be an even number of cards on each line, you could do something like this, using stringstream.
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <sstream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    string line = "JH 8D QH AC 8H 9S";
    istringstream ss(line);
    string word1, word2;

while (ss >> word1 >> word2)
    {
        cout << word1 << " " << word2 << endl;
    }

return 0;
}

Output:
JH 8D
QH AC
8H 9S
Last edited on
So there are 100 lines of six cards in the file, so would I increment the lines as so ??

// Before this the file would be read
// string data = text within file

int main ()
{
int i;
   (i, i<0, i++);
  {
    string line = data;
       istringstream ss(line);
       string word1, word2;

while (ss >> word1 >> word2)
     {
         cout << word1 << " " << word2 << endl;
     }
   }
}

Then for each blackjack I have to record it with a star, so if player one has 6 wins the output should be :

Player 1: ******
The for-loop isn't correct.

At line 6, int i; i is declared but is not given an initial value.
At line 7, (i, i<0, i++); i is not given an initial value, so its value is unknown, it could be anything. Then the test i<0 specifies that the loop will continue so long as i is negative. The line ends with a semicolon making this an empty loop which doesn't control anything.

I suggest you review the for loop here:
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/control/#for