As a learner should I use an IDE?

Pages: 1234
closed account (3CXz8vqX)
Probably the eternal question but, I wanted to take this debate out of another thread.

I'm a newbie to C++ there's no real argument there, pointers confuse me more than Algebra did -_- and anything Classes I or above I'm screwed on. Yet some people seem to be of the opinion that even I should be using Code::Blocks or Eclipse to write my software.

I disagree, I don't have that big of a program and I can always use CMake. So...should I use an IDE or not?
Didn't you just heavily advice against using an IDE in another thread as a beginner?

I reckon that it comes down to each individual, try it out?
Yet some people seem to be of the opinion that even I should be using Code::Blocks or Eclipse to write my software.

I would agree with those people. So yes... you should use an IDE.

Learning how to write makefiles is almost like learning another language on top of the difficulties of learning C++. And invoking the compiler directly and/or writing batch files to build your programs is a tremendous waste of time.

Aside from being generally easier and letting you focus on learning C++ rather than build junk... IDEs often come bundled with an interface for a debugger, which will be an invaluable tool. Coding without a debugger is a real hardship.

I disagree

Why?

EDIT:

I just found your other thread....

For everyone's reference, it's here:
http://cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/97909/

As for your points for reasons why not to use an IDE:

* increased learning time overall (due to all the shortcuts and management)

This seems contradictory. The definition of a shortcut is that it's faster. So how would a shortcut increase learning time?

* increased learning time until learning c++ (due to installation and set up).

Installing an IDE (bundled with a compiler) takes no longer than installing the compiler on its own.