Passing arrays to and from functions

Okay, so I'm in my first semester of programming. I am creating a "Go Fish!" card game program. Everything that I want to do makes perfect sense in my head, but I don't understand how to put it into code.

Essentially, I want one function, which I named "randomize," to deal a hand of 5 cards to the player and computer, as well as randomizing a large series of values in the "ocean" for use in the card game. I'm almost positive I successfully did this within the scope of this function, but how do I get my work out of the function?

Say that I created three arrays within randomize, named pHand[], cHand[], and ocean[]. I want to compare values of these arrays in a separate function.

I was gonna pass by reference but that doesn't seem possible? Also, I know you guys probably hate big walls of code with people asking you to fix their errors, so I've omitted that unless it's requested. Last thing to mention, we haven't touched upon vectors, or anything very advanced at all in this course, and I must stay inside the confines of what we learned in class.

Thank you very much!

#include <iostream>

void compare(int a[], int b[], int c[])
{
    if(a[0] == b[0] && b[0] == c[0])
        std::cout << "!!!" << std::endl;
}

void change(int a[], int b[], int c[])
{
    a[0] += b[0] -= c[0] += 9; //Do not do this again ever
}

int main()
{
    int x[3] = {1, 2, 3};
    int y[3] = {1, 3, 5};
    int z[2] = {1, 9001};
    compare(x, y, z);
    change(z, y, x);
    std::cout << x[0] << ' ' << y[0] << ' ' << z[0] << std::endl;
}

Arrays are threated as pointers when you pass them into functions, so if you pass an array into fuction you will deal with actual array, not a copy.
Last edited on
Create the arrays in `main()' and pass them to the `randomize()' function.

> I must stay inside the confines of what we learned in class.
That's stupid.