I want to know if this code is close to being correct?

Pages: 12
so i have asked for help with understanding the void type now i have to create a code that calculates the grade point average of 3 numbers entered. i have to use 4 functiions and 1 has to be a void. the day i learned functions was the day i learned void so im trying to work at understanding them completely. I keep stressing this out, i am a beginner, and i recently saw that we should never use <conio.h>, but i use it all the time and the professor says its no problem, but i guess thats because i am using it on a homework assignment. anyways im posting this code and i want to know why it gives me this error?

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <conio.h>
#include <iomanip>
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

void calculate ();

int number1 (int x)
{
	cout << "Please enter the first grade : ";
		cin >> x;
}
int number2 (int y)
{
	cout << "Please enter the second grade : ";
	cin >> y;
}
int number3 (int z)
{
	cout << "Please enter the third grade : ";
	cin >> z;
}

int main()
{

string stop;
	int a,b,c;
	cout << endl;
	cout << endl;
	do 
	{
		cout << number1(a);
		cout << number2(b);
		cout << number3(c);

cout << "Exit?: ";
		cin >> stop;
cout << final;

}while (stop == "y" || stop == "Y" );
	_getch();

}
void calculate(int x, int y, int z)
{
	final = (x+y+z/3);
}

the errors i keep getting is that number 1,number2 and number3 must return a value but i thought asking for the input was returning a value?
Last edited on
void calculate ();

int number1 (int x)
{
		cin >> x;
}
int number2 (int y)
{
	cin >> y;
}
int number3 (int z)
{
	cin >> z;
}
You have declared that "calculate" does not return anything and that "number1", "number2", and "number3" return an integer.

Hint: You need to use the return statement.