Looking for exercises with my tutorials

I am very new to programming, the extent of my experience is editing some code/scripts (so no programming experience).

I'm currently learning by watching the video tutorials on TheNewBoston because I feel I learn a bit easier when I can see someone do it and I do as they do. At the end of each video I think, "ok, yeah, that makes sense. I can do that." Then a few lessons later he will do something I should know but I have troubling remembering / understanding what he just did or why. I need to practice things after I learn them to help it sink in a bit more.

Am I expected to just be confused through most of a tutorial, and go over the material again when I start trying to do small projects? Or do I need to make sure I really understand one concept before starting the next video? Which just brings me back to the fact that exercises will really help me understand a concept before moving on.

Can anyone point me to any tutorials with exercises or a good book with exercises? Or should I just stay the course with TheNewBoston and see how confused I am at the end?

One last question, someone recommended a beginner should read "Thinking in C++" so I just started reading that but the author says repeatedly that the book is intended for people who already understand programming with C. Is this a good book for a rookie?

This become a pretty loaded thread, obviously im confused and want to make sure I learn properly. Thanks to anyone who takes the time to help me out.

You can find many "c++ beginner exercises" by just Googling the phrase in quotes. The same goes for books. On a final note, the only way to learn programming is to program, so don't just watch try some of your own projects.
@Script Coder