Question about Input ! Need your help!

Hello Everyone. I am new to C++ and have a quick question. I am working on a part that involves me writing an "error message" when entering a wrong input. How do i make it so if the user inputs nothing (blank) or a letter or or any other character - the error message will appear? Should I use else in this situation?

cout << "Number of lemons: ";
cin >> numberofLemons;

if (numberofLemons < 0)
    {
        cout << "---" << '\n' << "The number of lemons must be positive" << endl;
        return 1;
    }

Thank you.
You could use a switch and include every option you do not want the user to input. the else statement would be quite useless imo. think about this.
if someone inputs abc that would be some weird number like 12301230123123 so bascially you want to check to see if it is a number.

what I like to do for my inputs is something like this:
string input, error;

cout << "Input a number: " << flush;
getline(cin, input); // gets everything that the user inputs not just the first character like cin.
for(unsigned int i = 0; i<input.size(); i++) if(isdigit(input[i])) error = "false"; else error = "true";

if(error == "true") cout << "I am an error message." << endl; else cout << "My number is: " << input << endl;
Last edited on
If haven't been at it for very long either, but I think I can help in this case. Use a do ...... while loop.
do 
{
    cout << "Number of lemons: ";
    cin >> numberOfLemons;
}
while (numberOfLemons > 0)

you may want to use a cin.get () function in there as well. If you don't know what cin.get is look it up, it will come in handy down the road.
Yom your method would be useless also. Input 'a' and tell me what happens =p. Thats the one reason I hate using cin with an int.
Last edited on
Well unfortunately in my class i am taking. (I just started) we only learned up to loops so far. some of the terms you used are unfamiliar to me..... is there a simpler way?