complete beginner wanting to know a start point

hi guys,
BACKGROUND
i have made a database in access and a worksheet in excel

the two of them i use as separate programmes and files. excel file allows me to calculate car set up, such as gear ratios, corrected horsepower figure, dampening information, optimal wheelbase length in regards to turn radius ect.
while the access database provide track information distance, altitude ect. record of previous car set up and the lap times achieved.

hopefully you see where i am going with this, i would like to make a programme that is more user friendly that combines the two into an easy to use package, the files have taken me years to put together and refine and are theoretically still incomplete due to the inability of excel to automatically transpose formulae. this is with a view of getting to a workable product with a view of then getting professional programmers to refine and enhance to make a saleable product (hopefully within two years)

QUESTIONS
1.) is this an achievable goal or am i trying to run before i can walk?
2.) is this (2 years) a realistic time scale
3.) irrelevant to the answer to Q1 what language would be best for writing this program, what language should i start studying
4.) is visual studio pro 2012 a good programme for me to use
5.)when you was learning to programme what was the biggest struggle or surprise you had

thanks very much for your time and hopefully your responce
If you want a ui(user interface) I would suggest using Qt instead of visual studio pro 2012 but i'm still fairly new so others might know better. I made a database program myself within about a month so I'm sure you can theoretically do it within 2 years if you put the time and effort in.