Beginners - April 2012 (Page 2)

Understanding pointer casting with const

I am a newbie programming in MSVS2008. I am struggling to understand this casting which is correctly working code: int compareQuantityAsc(const void *a, con...
[1 reply] : For the code to be const-correct, you should not be casting away the c... (by JLBorges)
#ifdefine question

When I coding my program in separate files, I use definition macro for file test.h like this: //------------ #ifndef TEST_H #define TEST_H ..... ..... #...
[4 replies] Last: > The only thing that you want to consider is making sure its unique. ... (by JLBorges)
Pointers or arrays ?

Hi, I'm about to start a new project about processing data stored in text file (all data are of type double ) and I'm wondering which appraoch is the best (in...
[9 replies] Last: Thank you (by nadir CoCo)
PLZ Help me .. in Arrays .

In network simulation, node placement is one way to create and describe a simulated network. Write a C++ program to create a node placement file named “Nodes_...
[no replies]
can someone help with this tic-tac-toe project?

i have been c++ programming for a couple of months, using Microsoft visual c++ 2008, and i am trying to do a program that lets you play tic, tac, toe. i have th...
[5 replies] Last: @newbieg - I would refrain from posting full solutions on here as far ... (by MrHutch)
Convert string number to Int

I know this is a very newb question to ask and all, but is it possible to convert a number in a char or string variable into an int variable? in effect I wan...
[5 replies] Last: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/ascii/ this gives the entire table, but ... (by Danishx83)
"error: cannot convert ‘Funct’ to ‘int’ in initialization" when trying to use functors.

I'm trying to get the hang of functors but I get this error on line 18. I'd really appreciate it if someone could tell me where I've gone wrong. #includ...