Beginners - December 2011 (Page 3)

question with if-else statement

i am a C++ beginner and stuck with the following problem.What's wrong with my code and how can i write the same thing by switch statement? #include<iostrea...
[4 replies] Last: Thank you very much!! (by garygao)
empty catch block

I've read that empty catch blocks are bad practice, but I have recently encountered a problem where one makes perfect sense. Since I am a beginner, I take this ...
[3 replies] Last: One valid case I can think of right now is in destructor code. More o... (by webJose)
Problem creating load

I am making a new game and i am a beginner in C++ I was trying to make a load function but the problem is that i need to define the fstream in the load() too ...
[2 replies] Last: How am i supposed to load the game??? It is not a variable. This is my... (by Donanza)
Are they one and the same?

New to c++ and just started reading Arrays and strings but came across a pointer declaration that i need cleared out. what is the difference between char * c...
[2 replies] Last: Consider that there is the case of char const * const myVar; = const ... (by eypros)
why i need to subtract 48 from every digit??

Hi all my program works it works like this u enter some string and my program summarises all digits in entered string but i have one question why i need t...
[4 replies] Last: suma+=niz -'0'; Now you don't have to ask (by ne555)
by sotbs
Over loading + operator to add 2 arrays and copy equal numbers once

#ifndef DARRAY_H #define DARRAY_H #include <iostream> #include <cassert> #include <string> using namespace std; template<class T> class DArray { T* list; i...
[8 replies] Last: My advice is not to overload operator+ unless it preserves its origina... (by moorecm)
whole no. and decimal

im trying to put my input able to get numbers entered in whole and decimal.because i need to increment it for the next process. The problem is my cin can onl...