Beginners - July 2020

Reading the first character of a line from a text file

I have a text file like this: 0 user1 1 user2 2 user3 3 user4 4 user5 If the first line of the string is equal to 0 or 1, etc. I want to do something with it....
[2 replies] Last: Yes that works, thank you. (by CodePanther)
Curious?

I set up a variable such that... float P; Then I assigned a value to it... P = 2 / 7; When I output the resultant value I am told P = 0? All ot...
[3 replies] Last: Thank you; hadn't realised the integer division thing (lovely how all ... (by Gazzieh)
Working with vectors

I am new to C++ but not programming. I am currently working from an old FORTRAN piece of code, which handled vectors in a slightly different manner to C++ (a...
[5 replies] Last: Thank you lastchance; I will do so immediately. That will make my code... (by Gazzieh)
Point.h

Good Evening, I created a Point class defined within two files, Point.h and Point.cpp.(following studies instructions) Then wrote a PointTest.cpp file that will...
[14 replies] Last: g++ -Wall PointTest.cpp Point.cpp -o program Assuming PointTest.cpp ... (by Ganado)
no matching function for call to "" (1,2)

This is my specification file, and my implementation file isnt working. #ifndef DATE_H #define DATE_H #include <string> class Date { private: int m...
[25 replies] Last: Something to think about in relation to the use of arrays I mentioned ... (by againtry)
dereferencing pointer

Hey y'all, hope I write this question correctly. My question is directed at the line quiz ->display(); From what I understand, the -> operator de references t...
[2 replies] Last: Ah that actually makes perfect sense, thanks for the input. (by noblemin)
Arrays from text file?

Here is example input.txt: 100 100 100 100 90 100 100 100 80 100 100 100 100 100 I would like to find the sum of the first column and...
[5 replies] Last: First column is score and second column is total possible per assignm... (by dhayden)
by AL88