Beginners - May 2013

Running an external .exe in a console app

What's a good alternative to system(...)? I would like to place the .exe in the same folder as my program and run it without specifying the file path, like ifs...
[2 replies] Last: Sorry, should have looked it up first. (by DrZoidberg)
Writing to/reading from files

When using ifstream file; file.open ("Data.txt"); file >> variable; Is there a way to specify the line number, or another way to make it possibl...
[2 replies] Last: Thank you (by DrZoidberg)
Trying to extract a certain string from a text file

okay so im new to programming and Ive emailed my prof 3 times to ask for help but she hasnt replied, so hopefully someone here can help me out. I know I nearly ...
[1 reply] : Here the entire contents of the file is displayed. But you could easil... (by Chervil)
Working with Arrays and Loops

I am trying to create program that asks a students information. However when I run the program the first questions is skipped? How do I fix that? for(i...
[4 replies] Last: right clarification, miiniipaa. apologize for my lack of precision, bu... (by ar2007)
STL list, need help using remove

I am creating a "Graph" ADT using a multi-list for one of my c++ classes. I am not very familiar with the STL list object, and am having trouble deleting a Vert...
[4 replies] Last: No, that would not work. The parameter for remove_if is a predicate .... (by keskiverto)
by Nexy
friendship not being recognized

Hello, I'm learning about the friend function but I can't seem to get it work though. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong? //Auxi.h #ifndef AUXI_H #defin...
[14 replies] Last: That still didn't fix anything. I get the same error and still can't i... (by Nexy)
Random Number Generation Issue

Hello everyone, I have recently watched a tutorial on generating random numbers, however there seems to be a problem with my code which doesnt show up in the co...