Multithreading with async, only a 4x's speed up?

I am new to multithreading in C++11 with Visual Studio. I am trying to test the speedup of my code using async, and I am only getting a 4x's speed up (when I subtract the time taken to initialize the threads ~0.22us for each loop of the threaded process). However, I know my machine can have 8 possible threads, so shouldn't I see an 8 fold increase? Am I misunderstanding the capabilities of multithreading, or is the error in my code?

L_d is a class with a matrix, the asv's breaks it into rows, loop_kernel is a function multiplying elements along a row together and putting the result back into L_d.

double time1=(double)clock();
			for(int i=0;i<1000;i++){
			auto as1 = async(loop_kernel, L_d,0,asv1);
                        //start row and end row, from 0 to asv1
			auto as2 = async(loop_kernel, L_d,asv1,asv2);
			auto as3 = async(loop_kernel, L_d,asv2,asv3);
			auto as4 = async(loop_kernel, L_d,asv3,asv4);
			auto as5 = async(loop_kernel, L_d,asv4,asv5);
		        auto as6 = async(loop_kernel, L_d,asv5,asv6);
                 	auto as7 = async(loop_kernel, L_d,asv6,asv7);

loop_kernel(L_d,asv7,*L_d.M);//use main processor
			as1.get();
			as2.get();
			as3.get();
			as4.get();
			as5.get();
			as6.get();
			as7.get();

}
	double	timediff=(double)(clock()-time1)/CLOCKS_PER_SEC;
		cout<<"time for 8 threads: "<<timediff<<endl;
		time1=(double)clock();
		for (int i=0;i<1000;i++)
			loop_kernel(L_d,0,M);//no syncs
			timediff=(double)(clock()-time1)/CLOCKS_PER_SEC;
		cout<<"time for serial: "<<timediff<<endl;

Do you notice any difference if you do the "serial" test before the asyncs?
It goes from 4x's to 4.7x's....?
Last edited on
You called the second test serial. "time for serial".
Threading does not guarantee a speed up equal to the number of threads/cores you run your code on. You have to take in to account things like memory access, processor scheduling, cache swapping, cache misses, pre-fetching etc.