Array Concept. . . .

Pages: 123
@htirwin

Because sizeof gets you how much memory, not how many items

a_sizeof( n ) is not the same as sizeof( n )
One more look the function definition.
computerquip
EDIT: I could have sworn there was some funky syntax that allowed you to use pointer syntax to initialize arrays... maybe that was an old GCC extension.

there was?. What do you mean ? Are you rtying to say that there WAS Something like this and now is disclosed? I don't think so i am studying a book which is INTERNATIONALLY reputed about C++ in which all this has been told . Even latest version probably 9th Version published after 2010 is saying arrays are pointers. Why all of you are not accepting?

Moreover i have given you the answer to your question sizeof() operator. Why don't you all check that?

to answer this read this:

sizeof() : When applied to a reference type, the result is the size of the referenced type
i.e. when applied to POINTER which is referenced DIRECTLY

and

when applied to array gives the size of whole array in bytes becox it has not been referenced DIRECTLY but pointer does have. You can access every element of array just becox it's first element and it's ADDRESS in which you increment to get next elements.

LINK :http://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/sizeof
And I do not know why you are showing this quote/ What does it prove?! I showed you already that results of sizeof for an array and a pointer are different

Moreover for an array you can calculate the number of its elements the following way

sizeof( array ) / sizeof( *array )

For any pointer this formula gives you an incorrect result.

Please read my above POST . Thank you! You're not even understanding what i am trying to say!
cire:

Arrays are not pointers. Pointers are not references.

then what's array? a collection of memory for the same datatype?. Yeah fine i agree then how do you access array elements individually? by doing this:

array[0], array[1],array[2],. . . . ?