reading/writing file on multiple threads

I'm currently working on a server for handling clients in a 2d online game and I wrote some regular fstream file code for handling the file that stores their information and I was about to implement it into the server, then I realized there might be a problem having it open multiple times concurrently, so I googled it and came up with
posts like

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1632470/accessing-a-single-file-with-multiple-threads

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1576187/can-createfile-open-one-file-at-the-same-time-in-two-different-thread

I'm wondering if I can just treat it like everything else or will I have to do something specific for opening on multiple threads?

p.s. I did read those posts but I'm very new to multithreading
Appreciate any insight

Last edited on
closed account (zb0S216C)
As far as I know of, the OS doesn't provide mutually exclusive access to a file between threads/processes. The obvious solution is to introduce a synchronisation device (e.g. mutex). Each thread would attempt to "lock" the mutex before performing I/O operations on the file. When a thread is finished with the file, it "unlocks" the mutex, allowing the next thread to gain exclusive access to the file.

If you don't know already, a "mutex" is a simple construct that threads use for synchronised access to a common resource shared by multiple threads. In single-threaded environments, a mutex isn't necessarily essential, but in multi-threaded environments, mutexes are crucial (unless you write lock-less code).

Typically, a mutex, or other synchronisation devices, are implemented with atomic operations. "atomic" operations are CPU instructions that prevents other CPU cores from writing to the same location while another CPU core read/writes to a memory location. Most operating systems provide some form of mutex.

Anyway, back to the question in hand. Yes, it's possible to have synchronised access to a common resource.

Wazzak