Looking for the next step in learning c++

As of a few weeks ago, I started learning the basics from Alex Allain's "Jumping into C++" ebook. I'm just looking for recommendations on what the next step would be after I finish it.
closed account (N36fSL3A)
How well would you rate yourself?

What are your goals?
Well, I haven't really gotten very far in the book yet. Currently at chapter 9 getting to arrays and such. Though with how far I've gotten in it, I would rate myself as doing very well with understanding the subjects it has covered so far with minimal trouble completing a couple of practice problems.

As far as goals go, I'm not quite sure where I would like to go with programming. I would like to get into automation software and game development. With any route I decide to go, I would like to gain a great understanding of the c++ language first before moving on to such a big project.
closed account (N36fSL3A)
If you're getting into game dev, or any graphics software dev for that matter, look into SFML/SDL next. Then, once you feel good with it, use either of the two with OpenGL.
If you have learned classes, learn advanced topics such as polymorphism, File I/O and pointers.
Thank you both for the information. I have yet to get to the classes, it comes near the end of the ebook. Are there any other books or resources I should look into after this one? Did a little research and saw "C++ Primer" and figured I will probably get it.
Last edited on
I advice to read "Thinking in C++" by Bruce Eckel.

http://mindview.net/Books/TICPP/ThinkingInCPP2e.html
I have to agree with vlad on this one. The Thinking in C++ Volume 1 and 2 are good books and completely free. They are a bit outdated, but still a lot of the data is still relevant.
> Did a little research and saw "C++ Primer" and figured I will probably get it.

Assuming that the "C++ Primer" is the one by Lippman, Lajoie, and Moo, (fifth edition) you have already made an excellent choice.