Learning progress & speed

closed account (930jE3v7)
Hello. I know some basics of Java, .HTML, C# and C++. I wish to learn some C++ and I am still learning the basics. I was wondering about WHEN I would actually get to do stuff with graphics, because I kind of find textbased stuff boring/dull. Also, I am quite busy due to college..

I would like to know how much I could learn if I studied an hour a day for a month, and would I be ready to do stuff with graphical stuff, or like... Learn some basic graphical stuff, such as making a Super Mario platformer.
If you know of a book that focuses on graphical game programming, I would be pleased to know the name ^^

I hope to become part of this community and contribute to it!

Sincerely
SubtleNinja
To be able to do really interesting stuff, first you must learn the basics and then have a solid foundation to build your knowledge upon. As an example, say you fancy being a F1 racing driver, first you need to learn how to drive!
Let make some arithmetic calculations. Let assume that you decided to read some book on programming. It is unimportant whether it is a book on C++, C# or graphics. At present in average such books have about 750 pages.
If you will spend an hour a day then you can read about 10 pages per day. So to read the book you need about two and a halve months.
After reading the book you will get some basic knowledge on the subject. To simply read one book is not enough. Usually one book does not contain all information you need. Beside this you need to write some programs.
So in my opinion you need no less than one year that to have basic knowledge on the subject.
Last edited on
> I would like to know how much I could learn if I studied an hour a day for a month, and would I be ready to do stuff with graphical stuff

You would certainly be ready to start with graphical stuff within a month.