2d Game building

Pages: 12
Hello All,

I just started learning c++ and was wondering what were the lessons that I would have to learn to be able to build a very basic game. So far, I have learned loops, arrays, parameters, and functions.

Thanks,
closed account (N36fSL3A)
Those are the minimum really. But if you want to do anything big, invest in learning basic OOP.
What is the principles that make up OOP?
you got few more to learn, like references and pointers, OOP (object oriented programming) allows you to define Classes, which are very useful especially when you're writing games.
Okay, let me guess that those are more of the more advanced lessons when it comes to c++.
Classes themselves are actually not bad for beginners. Pointers and references take longer to get used to in my opinion. Both are immensely helpful in game development, whether it's 2d or 3d, indie or AAA.

You also might want to later on (After you learn classes, structs, pointers and references, and perhaps a few other things you need to learn) check out STL. It has some handy features.
I have heard about STL, but not done research. Is that a game engine? Also, is there a reason to pick certain free engines over others? Or do they all work the same?
STL stands for Standard Template Library. It's exactly as it sounds, a standardized library of various features and functions to make our lives easier in the long run. Every update with C++ adds something new to the STL, and C++14 (I believe) is said to be including the Boost library. If you don't have Boost, get it.

My advice would be to do what I did: Build simple games with what you know or want to know. Then rebuild, update, new project, update, new game, rebuild, ect, learning new things about the language and experimenting more and more with each iteration. A C++ reference manual wouldn't go amiss.