Qt

Hi all,

Now I'm studying PPP (you know what book I'm telling about, yes?) and am in chapter 10 of that book. My question is that, first, can I jump to a resource which teaches the "Qt" in C++, now? And second, what a good reference do you recommend me for "Qt"?

Thanks.
no idea!?
Do you mean the Qt framework, as in at http://qt.digia.com/ ? I'm not entirely sure what you mean, otherwise...
Do you want to learn Qt or C++?

EDIT: Qt Creator is an IDE just like MS Visual Studio that helps in creating both console and GUI based applications.

Qt can be learnt through online documentation. They have very good reference documents on the internet. Moreover, there are many YouTube tutorials that guide you on specific aspects of GUI programming using Qt.

You can get started with Qt any time. However, I would suggest you to first practise on the basic concepts of console based C++ programming so that you are familiar with the important OOP/Inheritance concepts and how to use them.

Last edited on
Qt is an IDE just like MS Visual Studio that helps in creating both console and GUI based applications.

I think you might mean that Qt Creator is an IDE like MSVS. Qt itself is a programming API, similar to wxWidgets (or even WinAPI?), which operates on a signal and slot based mechanism.

But I still agree with what you said about being familiar with the basic concepts first, due to some of the common things to do with Qt involving subclassing, virtual object management, and other things like that.
Those aren't the names, but I can't think of anything better...
Last edited on
closed account (3qX21hU5)
Qt is an IDE just like MS Visual Studio that helps in creating both console and GUI based applications.

Just wanted to correct something. QT is not a IDE it is a GUI API (Though some will say it is much more then that). Though the company has produced a IDE called QT Creator which has functionality such as the drag and drop GUI creator which helps with creating GUI programs.