Getting a file and Calculate

Hello everybody. I am a student who is taking a C++ class and I am doing an assignment that I dont know is correct. Our teacher says that even if you get the right answer that doesn't mean your code is correct. SO my project is to get a file from a designated location in my computer and not just read, but grab the values from the user and make a count, sum, and average calculation of the numbers in my code. I am using the fstream library and I am trying I did do it, I got the values and calcualated them, however I want the values to be accessed from maybe my desktop or my drive, I want to know how to manipulate my code to get a path like C:\\User\Desktop and maybe executed from the path input or given. I dont know if this is possible, or easy to do. ALso I did copy some of this code from my teachers examples and I dont know exatly why the variables have to be initilized at zero, and I would like to know a little more on the Bitwise right shift breaker used in line 20 something. Well If anyone could help, this would be greatly appreciated.
Here is my code below.

#include <iostream>//For avergae functionality 
#include <fstream>//For the file commands, such as ifstream and the Bitwise right breakers(<< and >>).
#include <iomanip> // To control the amount of decimals in my results desired.
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
    int aNumber=0; //Initilized at zero because of Stack Overflow:  
    int numbers=0;
    double sum=0.0;
    double average=0.0;

ifstream randomFile;
    randomFile.open("Random.txt");

if (randomFile.fail())
        cout << "failed to read file.";
    else
    {

while (randomFile >> aNumber)
        {
            numbers++;
            sum+=aNumber;
        }

if (numbers>0)
            average = sum/numbers;
        else
            average=0.0;

cout << "Number of numbers: " << numbers << "\n";
		cout << "Sum of the numbers: " <<fixed<<setprecision(2)<<sum << "\n";