Unhandled exception at 0x003a1957 in Nouveau.exe: 0xC00000FD: Stack overflow.

Hello everyone,

I'm new to C++. I usually program in MATLAB. So a friend gave me a code that transforms a text file called plasmaforce.dat to a binary file called plasmaforce_b.dat (I don't know how to program in C++ but I can understand '' the big lines '').

The text file contains 161620 lines; and each line contains 4 numbers like this:
3.96842000E+05,3.00231024E-32,-1.22247701E-30,-3.00231024E-32

When I run the code, I have this msg:
Unhandled exception at 0x003a1957 in Nouveau.exe: 0xC00000FD: Stack overflow.

Also, I have noticed that if I reduce the number of lines in my text file, let's say to 35901 (each line still contains 4 numbers); the program works.

I don't know what's the problem.. I would appreciate if someone can help me on this please. It's for a research project for my university.

Here's the C++ code:

Note that at third line, we have: #define NUM 161620*4
161620 is the number of lines in the text file. We can change this number if the number of lines is different from 161620.
4 is the number of numbers in each line.

void main()
{
FILE *fp;
char temp[20] ;
int i =0;
for(i=0; i<20; i++)
temp[i]='0';
if( (fp=fopen("plasmaforce.dat","r")) == NULL)
{
printf("failed to open file!\n");
return;
}
double result[NUM];
int ri=0;
int ti=0;

char ch = fgetc(fp);
while(ch != EOF)
{
if(ch == ',' || ch =='\n')
{
temp[ti++] ='\0';
result[ri++] = strtod(temp, NULL);
ti=0;
}
else
temp[ti++]=ch;
ch = fgetc(fp);
}

for(i=0; i<ri; i++)
printf("%5.8e\n", result[i]);

fp=fopen("plasmaforce_b.dat", "wb");
fwrite(result, sizeof(double), ri, fp);
fclose(fp);

return;
}

Thank you very much,
Sincerly,
JunMi

Last edited on
Does the prorgam just create a binary file of those doubles?

If that's the case, don't store them all in memory, you just need enough space to help one, right?
Hello kbw,