Visual C++ Windows form user input error.

I am fairly new to Visual c++ programming, below is my code to a project I am working on. I am having issues with the code I wrote below. Question 1 works well and the user can input the answer and the second question comes up. However when I get to Question 2 when the user inputs the correct answer which is "c" it will say the user has lost. However when they input "a" nothing happens (which was the same answer to the first question).

Is there anything wrong with the variable or the way I structured it? Thanks in advance.

private: System::Void button1_Click(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e) 
			 {

label1->Text = "Question 1: Which of the following arithmetic operations are allowed in an expression?";
				 label2->Text = "A.";
				 label3->Text = "B.";
				 label4->Text = "C.";
				 label5->Text = "D.";
				 String ^ test = textBox1->Text;
				 if (System::String::IsNullOrEmpty(test))
				 label7->Text = "You are currently on £0!";
				 else if (test == "a" || test == "A")
					{

textBox1->Text = "";
					 label7->Text = "Well done, you are currently on £500!";
					 label1->Text = "Question 2: The company that popularized computers was?";
					 label2->Text = "A.";
					 label3->Text = "B.";
					 label4->Text = "C.";
					 label5->Text = "D.";
				     if (test == "c" || test == "C")

{
						 label7->Text = "£1000 has been secured! Keep playing to increase this amount";
					 }

}
				 else
				 {
					 label7->Text = "You lose.";	 
				 }

You need to make test = textbox1->Text again around line 22; you'll also need to allow the user to have time to enter data again, from what I can see of this, it looks like everything is done as soon as the button is clicked. When the user clicks the button again it will just check for "a" everytime?
First thing, this looks like C++/CLI:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C%2B%2B/CLI
are you aware of this?

I wouldn't class this as 'visual C++' as such.
Last edited on