array manipulation of messages

Basically i need to encrypt a message into ascii values & i also need to allow the user type some ascii values thus decrypting the values into characters that are placed within the code. I'm still a beginner so maybe some help with this code would do. Thank you.

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <cstring>
#include <string>

using namespace std;
#define Q 2000

void main(){

char array1[Q]={"A gentle, dull flickering flame, burns in the marble hearth. Its dim light scarcely illuminates the small, cozy room with its quiet elegance. The dismal light plays softly causing shadows over the solitary figure of a wooden desk at which Allen was roaming through his memories. Thinking back in the past where he once had a friendship which was out righteously incredible. She was the girl of his dreams, in a way which she had everything he had ever sought out in a beautiful and clever girl. Most of all she had his heart. Her style was incredible in the way the outfits she would wear would match perfectly giving a deep vibrant lively feeling."};

int S[Q];
char S1[Q];
int x;
int i;
char e, d;

cin>>x;

if(x=d){

cin>>Q;
	for(i=0;i<array1[Q];i++)
		cout << S[i]<<endl;
for(i=0;i<array1[Q];i++)
	cout << S[i]<<endl;

}
Put the code you need help with here.
Last edited on
You seem to have a few misconceptions. In computers, everything is a number - even characters in text are numbers. There is no mechanism for determining if a number is just a number or if it is a character, because it could be either. It is up to the programmer to decide how to treat and interpret data.

Your characters are already in ASCII format, you just need to interpret them as numbers instead of characters. I don't understand why your program is taking input, so maybe I have misunderstood something.