Problem with 'Sint16 {aka short int}'?

Hello, I have downloaded from the internet, source alternative tibia client and I have many problem. I am a novice programmer in C++, help me if you can,
This is one of them:

C:\YATC\ui\..\enginesdl.h|52|warning: narrowing conversion of 'left' from 'int' to 'Sint16 {aka short int}' inside { } is ill-formed in C++11 [-Wnarrowing]|

void setClipping(int left, int top, int width, int height) {
     SDL_Rect r = {left, top, width, height};
     SDL_SetClipRect(m_screen, &r);
}

What's going on and how to fix it?
To compile i use Code Blocks.
If someone wants source to the client, it is here https://github.com/opentibia/yatc
The members of SDL_Rect are of type Sint16 and Uint16 and you are trying to initialize them with int values. This was perfectly fine before C++11 but unfortunately this is no longer valid. It's a narrowing conversion because the types Sint16 and Uint16 are smaller than int.

To make it work you could change the parameter types of setClipping, or you could cast the values to the correct types.
SDL_Rect r = {static_cast<Sint16>(left), 
              static_cast<Sint16>(top), 
              static_cast<Uint16>(width), 
              static_cast<Uint16>(height)};

Or you could assign each member individiually
SDL_Rect r;
r.x = left;
r.y = top;
r.w = width;
r.h = height;

Another possibility is to create a function that helps you create and initialize SDL_Rect objects.
inline SDL_Rect createRect(Sint16 x, Sint16 y, Uint16 w, Uint16 h)
{
	return SDL_Rect{x, y, w, h};
}

SDL_Rect r = createRect(left, top, width, height);
Last edited on
Note that the compiler is just giving you a warning so it will still be able to compile the code. If you just want to build and use the program without touching the code you can safely ignore this warning.
Thanks for fast reply.
Now I have somethink like this:
        void setClipping(int left, int top, int width, int height) {
            SDL_Rect r = {static_cast<Sint16>(left),