Including .png Files When Compiled

Hello all,

I am currently coding a 2D game in Visual Studio 2013. All of the .png graphics are saved in an absolute directory (for example, "C:/gfx/example.png"). Although this works for testing the application on my own system, I would one day like to release it (although it won't be commercial, as I am just learning). I could put all the of the image files in a relative folder, but I do not like the idea of my graphics being out in the open like that.

Is it possible to compile these images into the application itself? I had been researching resource files on Google, but I am still not completely sure if this is what I need to be using. Even if it is, I am using the express version of VS, so I do not have access to the editor. If resource files are what I am looking for, do I have to purchase an upgraded version of Visual Studio, or can I use another editor? Additionally would someone point me in the direction of a good tutorial outlining the basic use of resource files, and/or briefly explain the basics.

If resource files are not what I need, can you please point me in the direction of a method (if there is one) of doing this?

Thank you very much :),

-Nathaniel Sheller
why are you uncomfortable with the png files being accessible like that?
Ehh, just a preference I guess. If I were to release a commercial game I would like to know how to hide them :P.
You could simply write a small program to generate a const array of unsigned char that embeds the file into a C++ source. It's only recommendable for smallish files, though, as they'll be loaded to memory when the program runs.
The other alternative is do what everyone does: ZIP files with the extension changed, possibly combined with some obfuscation to not make it trivial to extract the files. Using non-standard compression algorithms also works.
Last edited on
What's wrong with Windows resources? This is what they are designed for.