Rate of Rise Threshold

hi All

I'm working on a project that includes a arduino, potentiometer, and a buzzer i need help figuring out how to build the code so when the pot is turned up rapidly like %10 in 500 milliseconds it will set off the buzzer for 1 second. i don't know what other application would use this circuit. Rate of Rise Threshold
What's the potentiometer for? If you're measuring temperature change, you're going to need a thermometer.

To test rate of change:
Keep two variables: oldTemp and newTemp.
Each time your code loops, set oldTemp to newTemp, and set newTemp to whatever the thermometer reads.
100*(oldTemp-newTemp)/oldTemp = % change in temperature
If you have a 500ms pause in your loop, this % change will be the % change in 500ms.
It is going to be a thermometer. I was just using a pot as a point to test from. Do you know of any sources I can find this code from. I'm a newbie at programing and would like to check out a project that someone has close to the same idea.
I don't know of any, but you might find something if you Google it. What is it you're having trouble with? Have you written any code yet?
Ive tried goggling it and haven found something close enough for me to figure out. the part I'm struggling with is getting the old value and comparing it to the new one i don't know how to formulate that in a loop with a time delay.

buzzer = 9,

void setup() {
pinMode(pot, INPUT);

void loop()
{
for (int i=255;i>180;i--)
{
digitalWrite(buzzer, i);
delay(30);
}

for (int i=180;i<255;i++)
{
digitalWrite(buzzer, i);
delay(30);
}

digitalWrite(buzzzer, 255);

Can you post your full code? I already see a few potential problems, but I want to see everything so I know what you're doing. Use code blocks (the button to the right that looks like <>) to format it properly.
i made my own code and im not trying to mod on anyone else stuff can you make sentence of this and sorry i cant post code wort any thing

[code]

int sensorpin = A0;
int buzzer =9;