Starting C with knowledge of C++

Hey guys, I've posted a little bit on these forums and gained some valuable knowledge of C++ thanks to some very helpful people here. I'm still a beginner really, but my understanding of certain C++ concepts has improved a lot thanks to them.

This isn't strictly to do with C++, but what I would like to ask is whether or not it would be difficult to transition from C++ to C, with an understanding of concepts such as variables, i/o, conditionals, loops and functions?

I ask this because I will be starting my studies on a Computer Science course soon and have found out that the language we will be using is C.

Semantically and syntactically, is C similar to C++? C++ is my only language so that could be an issue.

Any advice is appreciated.
It's.. different, they may opt for minimalistic, single purpose apps. You're probably aware it's not object orientated and that you have to declare "all variables" up the top of a code block preceding any statements. There's a lot of other subtle differences.
Yeah, C++ is very similar to C. It was even built on it(influenced by C).

Aceix.
Microsoft compilers are two standards behind in C - they support C90 while there has been C99 and C11. In C99 and beyond you do not have the restriction of declaring all variables at the beginning of a code block.

Fun fact: the const keyword was brought into C from C++
Semantically and syntactically, is C similar to C++?

Remove:
- classes
- templates
- operator overloading
- function overloading
- namespaces

... and you have 95+% of the difference between the two ironed out.
Last edited on
Coming from someone who codes in a mix of C and C++ now adays, I can give a heads up.

The transition was mostly painless. Tools like valgrind and gdb become easier to use, errors are more obvious (no 150 line errors), etc.