generating sums of rand numbers

Hey all, i'm new to coding and trying to understand the basics. Right now I'm trying to create a code that generates random numbers and spits out a sum average and lowest and highest number. I am stuck on the sum however and once I get that I think the average will fall into place. Here's what I have.

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <ctime>
#include <math.h>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
int i, number;

cout<<"input the amount of number's you want summed and averaged\n";
cin>>number;

cout<<"The numbers we will be using are\n";

int x;
long int sum=0;
srand(time(NULL));
for (i=0; i<number; i++)
{
x=(rand()%10)+1;//generate random numbers
cout<<x<<endl; //
x+=i;
sum=x+sum;
}
cout<<endl;

cout<< "the sum of these integers is "<<sum<<endl;

double average=(sum/number);// to find the average in next line

cout<<"the average of all of your integers is "<<average<<endl;

return 0;

edit: i've noticed that it's almost always off by 1 or 3 for whatever reason
Last edited on
What is the line x += i; supposed to accomplish?
that calculates the sum of the numbers generated from the loop. is there another way to do so?
if x += i; calculates the sum of the numbers generated from the loop, what does sum = x + sum do?
that was just a temporary variable I made to try and fix the bug. But it did not work
that was just a temporary variable I made to try and fix the bug. But it did not work

If it's just a temporary variable you made, why does it show up again later in your code?

If x is the random number generated in each iteration of the loop (as x=(rand()%10)+1 suggests) and i is the number of times the loop has executed, then for any given iteration of the loop x+i is a random number plus the number of times the loop has executed. How does that equate to "the sum of the numbers generated from the loop?"