Custom Web Browser

Hi, Guys so i'm stuck in a situation. I NEED HELP. ive came up with an idea that INVOLVES me creating a fully custom web browser FROM SCRATCH. Yes this will be one of the most difficult projects for me. Im still learning C++ as i wouldnt call myself an expert. im just past a beginner but i wanted to start planning my project on paper as i continue to learn C++. THE QUESTION IS: What are all the languages needed to build a fully custom web browser like Safari, IE, Chrome ect. Let me remind you FROM SCRATCH!!! Like if somebody could just reply with
EVERYTHING they know about what it takes to build a browser. I'm willing to take all the advice i can get. Thanks in advance.!!!
1. Can it be done using just an implementation of HTTP?
2. Can it be done by writing a plugin/add-on for an existing browser?
3. Can it be done by combining an existing browser and an input automation language or some time of macro language?
4. Can it be done by modifying an existing browser?

If the answer to all four questions then there's a very good chance that you're approaching problem the wrong way. A web browser is a piece of software that solves a fairly specific problem; that of presenting web content in a humanly comprehensible way.
if the answer to all four questions is what? and also the web browser is only part of my project just fyi
Last edited on
Sorry, that was a typo. I meant to say "if the answer is 'no'".

and also the web browser is only part of my project just fyi
Modern web browsers are extremely complex beasts. For example, one source (https://www.openhub.net/p/firefox ) quotes Firefox as consisting of 12.3 megalines of code between C++, C, and JavaScript. The same source states Chromium consists of 15.8 MLoCs. For reference, the Linux kernel consists of 17 MLoCs.
I don't know what the rest of the project is about, but chances are the browser bit is going to dwarf it.
Last edited on