Direct Access Files

I am extremely new to C++ (and programming in general really) and am working on a project that has me stumped (not hard to do ha). The project involves Direct Access Files. We are to create a file consisting of a series of parts records. Here are some of the specifications:

Should contain a header record (24 bytes - filled) indicating the number of valid items.
    Each (24 byte-long) data record will contain a stock number (4 digits max), a description (8 characters max), a count (4 digits), and a "test part" indicator( 4 digits max => -1 - end of file).
    This file will initially hold 20 blank (dummy) records and will be created sequentially.
    Once the file has been created, an update sequential text file will be accessed based on stock numbers and new records will be inserted into the file.
    When the update is complete, the valid parts records will be printed in order starting at stock record "1".
    Update by reading the text update file (prog4.dat) and seeking the file position based on the stock number (don't forget the header record) 

Here is an example:

Initial (empty)
    Input (updates)
        1 widgits 25 3
        6 gidgits 12 8
        8 kidgits 6 -1
        3 didgits 11 6
    Output
        1 widgits 25
        3 didgits 11
        6 gidgits 12
        8 kidgits 6

I know absolutely nothing about Direct Access files, so have been looking at a couple different links that I've found on Google (http://cee-ux49.cee.illinois.edu/cee490/public_html/pdfs_vgs/aL23_Direct_Access_Files.pdf , and http://www.learncpp.com/cpp-tutorial/137-random-file-io/ specifically), but am having trouble figuring out how to make this work for this particular program.