What sets C++ apart from other languages, technically speaking?

Hi there. I've been programming with C++ for almost two years now, and I'd consider myself quite fluent in it, even if I still have tonnes more to learn. I've always been asking myself, what's at the core of this programming language, and hence what separates each programming language from each other on a technical level? The only difference I can see between (for example) C++ and Java is that the commands are different, but I'm sure that there's a much deeper, difference at the core of these two languages.

My question is: what makes C++ stand out from other languages on a technical level, and how does this benefit or handicap a programmer working with C++ when compared to programmers working with other languages.

Feel free to get as nitty gritty as needs be, I'm really excited to see what's at the core of C++. With that in mind, be sure to explain any advanced jargon you use, in order to aid any newcomers to the language who stumble upon this thread.
The only difference I can see between (for example) C++ and Java is that the commands are different, but I'm sure that there's a much deeper, difference at the core of these two languages.
Java is garbage collected language, C++ is not. Java is run on virtual machine, C++ compiles into native code. Java passes everything by value, but it passes references to object (by value) instead of object themselves (This is often surprising for those who comes from C++). And a whole load of other differences between them.
The only common things between C++ and Java is that both uses C-like syntax.

My question is: what makes C++ stand out from other languages on a technical level
Depends on language you are comparing it with.

how does this benefit or handicap a programmer working with C++ when compared to programmers working with other languages.