How to write OO?

Pages: 12
Hi,

I'm a C programmer.

I've taken a C++ course and learned the syntax of C++ Classes, inheritance, polymorphism, etc.

I need to write a tool which parses text files and as a result edit other text files, in a project.

I'll write the tool in C++.

How do I integrate Classes and inheritance into my tool, and not write C++ in the C-way?

I'd really like to incorporate Inheritance into my tool, as this was a very difficult subject for me to understand conceptually.

It is very important to me to write in in C++ OO way.

Thank you very much!
Last edited on
Depending on what you need to do, you might not need to create any new C++ classes. Generally you will only need to use existing ones such as std::ifstream, std::ofstream, std::string, std::vector, etc.

Keep in mind, C++ is not C "with classes":
http://www.LB-Stuff.com/cc
Last edited on
Hi,
Thank you.

What do you mean please by not need to create any new Class?

Are you saying that I may write all in static methods, in the same class of main method?

I'd really love to use inheritance to better practice it.
I think what he means is that you can, depending on your code, not actually need to create new classes- the ones that already exist in the standard library usually suffice. Not every situation calls for OO-programming, after all.
jared181 wrote:
Are you saying that I may write all in static methods, in the same class of main method?
I thought you said your background was in C? This is the kind of thing a Java developer would say. The main function is not associated with any class, it is in the global scope.
jared181 wrote:
I'd really love to use inheritance to better practice it.
Inheritance is not suited to every problem in existence. Your problem might be better solved without it (though it is still easier to use C++ than C in many cases). You have not given sufficient information for us to help you make that decision.
Last edited on
Hi,
Thank you very much LB and Isplil :)

LB