EOC Project

Hi all, as the end of the year approaches, so does my programing project for college. it is a 4 part program and the first 3 parts went quite well. My only concern now is the last part. I feel like I missed the lecture day over some of this material because I have no clue what I need to do. I am a beginner at computer science but I am absolutely clueless on what I'm being asked to do. I'm not asking for a complete program that gives me the answer, but if someone can help me out in explaining what this stuff means then it would be greatly appreciated!!!

So here is the assignment:

Create an Indexed Linked-List structure for a collection of database Records. The index portion should be a string type.
Of course the record portion will be a Vendor type.

Your class should have the following methods:

1. BuildList which will read a record from a text file, insert index element node(if needed) and database recrod node.

2.InsertIndexNode
3.InsertRecordNode
4.GetVendorRecord given the VendorID
5. ListRecords for given a specific State.
6.ListAllRecords(in sorted order by State by Vendor)

Build your list from the file:: Vendor List File.txt in Handouts
(I wont bother posting the entire file because it has about 120 lines but it looks roughly like this.)

Vendor ID//// Vendor Name//// Vendor City//// Vendor State//// Zip Code

1.//// US postal service //// Madison //// WI //// 53707
2.//// Jobtrak//// Los Angeles//// CA//// 90025
3. //// ASC Signs//// Fresno//// CA //// 93703

and so on...

Specifically my big questions are:

1. What exactly is an indexed linked list? I've read some stuff online but it seems to be the same as a regular linked list.

2. What does it mean when it says the record portion will be a Vendor Type and that the index portion will be a string type?

3. What exactly is a "record" here?