Is sfml/sdl worth a try or should i go with an engine?

I'm learning game development, i was looking for a nice api/framework for java, but then i decided that c++ would be better, at least for me.

I looked into SDL but it looked like too low-level. I mean, i liked it and it wasn't so hard, but somebody said me that i should start with an engine, at least for my first game.
I personally don't like engines, so i thought i should use another api. SFML looks good, but i heard it is less flexible(and sdl style of "SDL_FUNCTION" is nicer than "SF::FUNCTION" xD). What would you recommend?

The point is, I feel comfortable with sdl, but I'm a newbie in terms of games(i know c++ very well). Is it worth it to start programming a game with sdl/sfml or should i go with an engine?

I feel like I could make it without an engine but people say "don't reinvent the wheel". What i mean is: i like sdl(i read a little a bout sfml too), and i don't want a framework to take care of everything for me. But most people recommend using an engine. What should i do?
Use SFML. Easy to use, understand and great documentation. Also has a lot of flexibility, for example if you want to start doing 3D stuff, you can use SFML to set up your environment for OpenGL which is usually a pain in the ass otherwise.
SFML is basically the C++ version of SDL.
well, i will start learning it. Is it a myth that sfml is not flexible?
I'd say so. It's basically just convenient wrappers around all the OpenGL stuff.
It really depends, if you just want to make the game then I would go with the engine, but if you want to know what going on in the background then I would make a engine. But writing your own engine is quite complicated and you would most likely spend more time making the engine then the game.

As BlackSheep said, if you want 3D graphics, then you'll also have to use another library and implement that into your engine. As well as managing data, I/O, audio, collision, networking, ect.