How to criticize my code and test it for efficiency?

Hello,
I am a self taught coder and I'm not an expert but yet not a beginner. There are a few questions which I cannot find answers for online and are important for me to become a better programmer (since that's what job I want when I'm older - I'm 15). This question is mainly aimed at experienced programmers, or professional ones, but anyone with knowledge on the topics can answer :)

- When I need to code something, what is the process I should go through to design any algorithm(s), and solve the problem in the most efficient/flexible way? At the moment, I just think up a way of solving it and if it works I will use the code in my current project, but as I have found out from some of my larger projects, this definitely is not the way to go!

- How can I criticize my own code? Again, if I write some code that works I'll keep it, but what do you guys do? Go through the code and look out for optimizations or refactor the code? Which leads to my last question...

- How can I test my code for efficiency? What are the best ways of testing algorithms (etc) that I have added to see if they are fast enough? Of course, it will probably involve some kind of timer, but how will I be able to tell if X milliseconds is a good enough time?

If you can help me with any of these (rather vague) questions I'd be delighted! Thanks in advance :)
Hey, um, few key tips:
- It's better to write function definitions in the beginning.
- Keep all necessary structures and variables as globals.
- Avoid use of goto function.
- Go for readability more than functionality, you should be able to change stuff as and when you need.
- Lastly, comments are love, comments are life. Helps you remember stuff when writing a big code.

Hope this helps! :)
Thanks! Yeah, commenting code has always been my weakpoint, I need to do it more!
Pratik K wrote:
- Keep all necessary structures and variables as globals.