std::cout << "Before" << std::endl;
  #pragma omp parallel
  {
    std::cout << "Hello ";
    std::cout << "World!" << std::endl;
  }
  std::cout << "End" << std::endl;
}

I've tried to compile this with the command g++ omp.cpp -fopenmp (or g++ -fopenmp omp.cpp) but I always get the error message:
c:/mingw/bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/4.8.1/../../../../mingw32/bin/ld.exe: cannot find -lpthread
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status

What I've tried to do:

I've asked this question on StackOverfow and I've been told that I'm missing pthread. I've downloaded phtread from here: https://sourceware.org/pthreads-win32/
I've added pthread.h, shed.h and semaphore.h to MinGW/include.
libpthreadGC2.a and libpthreadGCE2.a are in MinGW/lib.
pthreadGC2.dll and pthreadGCE2.dll are in MinGW/bin

I've tried various other locations, but I just can't get openmp running. What do I have to do? I'm using Windows 7 if that matters. I'm a total newbie regarding such matters, so bear with me.

PS: I think I've got it working for Visual Studio, but I'd like to be able to work with Notepad++ and DOS
Last edited on
Some other page did recommend
mingw-get mingw32-pthreads-w32

The pthreads package that you did install may be for Windows, but if your compiler has a purpose-built package, then that is more likely to "fit in".
Thank you for your answer, but what exactly am I supposed to do? I've googled what you typed there and I've ended up downloading a file named pthreads-w32-2.9.1-1-mingw32-dll.tar.lzma but neither am I sure whether this is the right one, nor am I sure what to do with it.

I'd really need a more detailed explanation, because as I said, I'm a fullfledged newbie considering stuff like this. :(
LZMA is a compressed archive format, a bit like a zip or a rar file, so you'll need to unpack it. I think you can use 7zip for that.
The mingw-get is a package manager. According to net, it has both CLI and GUI modes. I hope it has some kind of manual/help too.