what could i have done differently?

Hey fellow programmers, I have started doing some problems and I feel very giddy and happy when I am able to solve an issue. I am a beginner but I feel like I can progress and become better. Take a look at my code and tell me if there is anything I can do to improve. I have heard that people do not like to use goto statements but I couldn't think of anything else to get out of the nested loop.

Well here it is please give me any advice, Thank you!

/*While( user == gullible )
Requires:
 variables, data types, and numerical operators
 basic input/output
 logic (if statements, switch statements)
 loops (for, while, do-while)

Write a program that ccontinues to asks the user to enter any number other than 5 until the user enters the number 5.
 Then tell the user "Hey! you weren't supposed to enter 5!" and exit the program.

★ Modify the program so that after 10 iterations if the user still hasn't entered 5 will tell the user "Wow, you're more patient then I am, you win." and exit.

★★ Modify the program so that it asks the user to enter any number other than the number equal to the number of times they've been asked to enter a number. (i.e on the first iteration "Please enter any number other than 0" and on the second iteration "Please enter any number other than 1"m etc. etc. The program must behave accordingly exiting when the user enters the number they were asked not to.)

*/

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int number; //ask user to assign a number to variable
int attempt;//assign amount of attempts user can input the "number" variable
int main()
{
do
{cout<<"Enter any number except 5."<<endl;
cin>>number;

attempt++;//to get out of loop
if (attempt>10)
{
    cout<<"Wow, you're more patient then I am, you win."<<endl;
    goto endprogram;// goto statement
}
}
while (number<5||number>5);
    if (number=5)
{
    cout<<"Hey! you weren't supposed to enter 5!"<<endl;
}
endprogram://statement label
return 0;
}