Problem with infinite-loop

Hi there,

I'm new to C++ and having some trouble with an infinite-loop i have to set up.

The Program has to read in an integer value and has to "break;" out of the loop when i enter something different. I googled how to determine an input as an integer but everything fails.

input is declared as an integer.

here the loop:

while(1){
		cout << "Enter a integer:";
		cin >> input;
		if (cin.fail() == 0){
			cout << "Yes an integer" << endl;
		}else{
			cerr << "Whoops not an integer!";
			break;
		}
	}

i also added the console output and I am confused why the "break;" quits the loop ( I can't enter a number after this) but keeps printing the "Enter a integer:" after the else statement.

Enter an integer:1
Yes an integer
Enter an integer:2
Yes an integer
Enter an integer:3
Yes an integer
Enter an integer:4.4
Yes an integer
WhoooEnter an integer:ps not an integer

Can somebody help my I really have no clue.

Greetings Almi
Last edited on
I assume the problem you are having is that it is still saying it is an integer even when you enter a floating point value? Also I assume that the input value is an int type? If so then the problem lies in that floating point values when assigned to and integer automatically get cast to type int (Essential it will just chop off the decimal and anything after it).

So your stream does not fail because the stream interprets everything before the decimal as an integer and assigns that to the variable, it then just leaves everything after the decimal in the stream if I recall correctly. So you are going to need to go about testing whether the value is an integer a bit differently, or at least add on another extra test to deal with the floating point case.