How proficient do I have to be at C++ before moving on to libraries like SFML & Win32?

Pages: 12
Hi, I'm a only a beginner, but these console applications are ugly and boring looking and eventually I want to move onto the Windows 32 API, .net, or SFML (a graphics library), which allow things like cursors,icons,graphics etc.) Should I wait until I'm advanced or until I'm what this guide ( http://stackoverflow.com/questions/388242/the-definitive-c-book-guide-and-list ) considers intermediate?
If you want to learn fast, start with SFML from the beginning and make a basic 2D platformer.
I find this as a neat beginners exercise to make sure you know the fundamentals of c++: http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/N6vU7k9E/

Sorry to preach, but you might wanna take a peek into the SDL2 library, and LazyFoo's tutorials. It does essentially everything that SFML can do, it's well respected with a long history, and its used in plenty of games.
"Sorry to preach, but you might wanna take a peek into the SDL2 library"

A lot of people have written that SDL is more like C and SFML is more like C++.

See :
http://www.quora.com/Which-API-do-you-prefer-and-why-SDL-2-or-SFML
http://www.reddit.com/r/gamedev/comments/1tsz5w/sfml_21_vs_sdl2/

"If you want to learn fast, start with SFML from the beginning"

Books written about Win32 programming and SFML programming, recommend being proficient in C++.
Last edited on
The easiest way to become proficient in any programming language is to try and make something with it. For C++ I recommend making a 2D platformer in SFML.
i just started learning sfml last week, and i havent finished C++ yet, im still in polymorphism, virtual functions.

i can say that, you can now start learning sfml for 2D games
Not that much.