can't get program to work

I'm new to C++ and I am learning from a book. One exercise asks to read a sequence of values into a vector and print the sum of all values, the smallest, the largest, and the mean value. I have done one exercise very similar to this but without using for statements. The code below has for statements and I want to know why the program doesn't work. When I enter my values, nothing happens.

#include "../../std_lib_facilities.h"
int main() {
	vector<double>distances;
	double sum = 0;
	cout << "Enter the distance between neighboring cities along a route: ";
	for (double distance; cin >> distance;)
		distances.push_back(distance);
	double smallest = distances[0];
	double largest = distances[0];
	for (double x : distances)
		sum += x;
	for (double x: distances)
		if (x < smallest)
			smallest = x;
		else if (x > largest)
			largest = x;
	cout << "Total distance: " << sum << '\n';
	cout << "Smallest distance: " << smallest << '\n';
	cout << "Greatest distance: " << largest << '\n';
	cout << "Mean distance: " << sum / distances.size() << '\n';
}
Last edited on
I don't use vectors a lot, but looks like your for loops don't have anything telling them when to stop.

Also I recommend using the tags around your code, make it a lot easier to read.
Last edited on
Did you press Ctrl+D (Ctrl+Z on Windows) after you entered all values?
I don't use vectors a lot, but looks like your for loops don't have anything telling them when to stop.

Correct me if I'm wrong but shouldn't the loop stop when there are no more characters to cin?

Did you press Ctrl+D (Ctrl+Z on Windows) after you entered all values?

Ctrl+Z worked but what exactly did that do? and why wouldn't it work before?