#include <cstdio> in Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition

I am an extreme Newbie to C++ Programming, so please "be gentle with me" !!!
I am following a book "C++ A beginner's Guide" and have been doing some examples on a linux Mint machine and it seemed to be going fine. I now have tried migrating the same source code to Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition on a Windows 7.1 PC and i seem to be having very basic problem with #include statements.
Here is the current code that I am scratching my head over- VERY basic stuff!!!

/* Simple program to get a string from the User and echo it to the console. */

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdio>
using namespace std;

int main() {
char str[80];
cout << "Enter a string terminated by Enter:\n";
gets(str);
// get a string entered by the user
cout << "\nThe entered string was : " << str << "\n";

return(0);
}

It fails to compile with error message:
1>------ Build started: Project: get_string, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1> get_string.cpp
1>\\jlmmds01\redirectedfolders\jlmallard\my documents\visual studio 2015\projects\get_string\get_string\get_string.cpp(11): error C3861: 'gets': identifier not found
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

If I comment out the line #include <cstdio> , i get the same result, so it's like it cannot retrieve the function "gets" out of the header file!

The initial #include "stdafx.h" seems to be required by the Visual Studio 2015 environment, so that is why i have included it.

What on earth am I doing wrong??!!
gets is a deprecated function and no longer exists in the latest C or C++ standards. Why are you trying to use such a dangerous function?

If that book told you to use that function, you should immediately return that book. There are bad C++ books out there and you may have gotten one by mistake. I recommend picking a book from this list:
http://stackoverflow.com/a/388282/1959975
wow!!