Changing My Major?

Hello everyone,

As it stand, I am starting to become quite troubled with my major as of now. I am a sophomore this year, majoring in computer science. I sort of new what to expect when I decided on this major, but I have been progressing I have started to doubt myself and my future with my choice of major. Ever since I was about 12 years old, I have been fascinated with computers, technology, and building things. To be completely honest, I didn't really take as much time as I should have during my high school years to really figure out what it is that I want to do.

I have been building my own computers since I was about a sophomore in high school. I have also assisted many of my friends and family with building their own computers and gaming rigs. I can help people with almost any question that have about internet issues, computer issues, program problems, etc. And I really do enjoy helping people and building things. The problem that I am facing now is with where I am going from here. As I continue along with my courses, I am passing with average grades (B, C, A here and there) in the beginner/intermediate level courses. Now I am in Discrete and Data Structure/Algorithm Classes, and I am starting to struggle. Mentally, I keep questing myself what it is I am really doing every time I sit down and try to and write a program. I KNOW that I am not retaining what I am learning. The way I am being taught to do these things in class is simply boring. We are given pages of notes on a blackboard about how certain things work, then we have to go and try to apply them to a program. I am very hands on with learning. When I am copying notes for an hour straight, I don't really remember anything I am copying down, it just sort of seems like I am a machine translating notes to paper.

I have came here because I wanted to know if anyone here could offer any advice to a troubled young man wondering if he should change majors.