Deep copies

I'm very new to pointers and linked lists, so please bear with me here. Each Polynomial object contains a linked list, and each Node of that list contains a coefficient (long), a degree (unsigned int), and a next pointer (Node). This overloaded operator must create a deep copy of the list:

Polynomial& Polynomial::operator=(const Polynomial& p)
{ 
  //Temporary nodes so the actual head pointers don't get changed.
  Node *host = m_head;
  Node *param = p.m_head;
  //Traverse the list
  while (param->m_next != NULL)
    {
      //Make deep copies.
      host->m_coefficient = new long(param->m_coefficient); //errors occur here
      host->m_degree = new unsigned int(param->m_degree); //and here
      host = host->m_next;
      param = param->m_next;
    }
  return *this;
}

This compiles with the following errors:

Polynomial.cpp:89: error: invalid conversion from ‘long int*’ to ‘long int’
Polynomial.cpp:90: error: invalid conversion from ‘unsigned int*’ to ‘unsigned int’

I have two questions. Why is the error occurring, and is this the correct way to traverse a linked list?
Why is the error occurring...
A new expression results in a pointer. You can't implicitly convert a pointer to the pointed-to type (and since that isn't actually what you want, thank your compiler for not letting you do it. ;)

...is this the correct way to traverse a linked list?

You're traversing the lists fine. Copying, on the other hand... not so much. The simplest way to do this is to create a new list with p's content. Destroy the old list. Set head to point to the new list.
Destroy the old list.

I have a destructor that deletes all nodes in the list. To destroy a specific list, do I have to call the destructor explicitly?

Sorry, you can probably tell I'm new to dynamic memory as well.
Last edited on
I have a destructor that deletes all nodes in the list. To destroy a specific list, do I have to call the destructor explicitly?